30-Day Blog Challenge: Day 2

Where would you like to be in 10 years?

Oh man. Questions like this are some of my least favorite to be asked. I always dread the “Tell us where you want to be in five years,” prompt in interviews.

In ten years I’ll be turning 34. I always think about where my Mom was when she was my age. For example, at 23 my mom had a newborn and had been married for two or three years. Me? I have a dog and live with my two roommates—not married and no kids.

I don’t really remember where my Mom was at 34. I think we had just moved to Michigan from California. She had a 12-year old daughter and was a single mother. Kudos to her by the way. I know for a fact that I could NEVER be a single mother at 24 and raise my child by myself.

Anyways, in ten years I want to be…this is going to sound so cliche…married with at least two children and maybe a third, with a house and two dogs. I want to sit at my kitchen table drinking coffee with my friend from two houses over as our kids play in the backyard.

If my eighteen-year old self was here right now she would probably slap me. I never, NEVER dreamed about being a mom or having kids.

However, in ten years, I also want to have either a PhD or at least my Master’s degree teaching or working professionally. In ten years I want to have traveled the world and be taking weekend trips around the US with no kids.

It can really go multiple ways which is why I hate these kinds of questions. The way I see it, I don’t even know where my life will be next Fall. How can I say where I want to be in 10 years? If I have kids by 34 then I have kids. If I don’t and instead my life worked out differently and I have a career then that’s where I’ll be.

I don’t want to make any concrete plans because if something doesn’t work out as planned, I don’t want to be let down. I could have two very different lives in 10 years. Just like I could have had a very different life had certain things played out differently when I was 18.

Signature[1]

2 thoughts on “30-Day Blog Challenge: Day 2

  1. Yup … life is a challenge! Love this “challenge” idea … today’s world is so much more enlightening than in the “olden days!” Wear clothes with lots of pockets, Sarah … and stuff them full of happy possibilities to ponder when the loose ends are tugging at your spirit. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

